Daily Routine: What and Why

you-will-never-change-your-life-until-you-change-something-you-do-daily

During the holidays, many of us get together with friends and loved ones. I am no exception. My sister traveled back to MN for her visit, and she stayed with my husband and I for three weeks. We had a blast! However, some of my daily routine went to the wayside. So, I am working on getting back on top of things and thought it would be great to share some of what I have learned. And I know that whether it is guests in our home or traveling or a physical or mental change in our daily life, our routine can become interrupted. Most of us have some semblance of a routine that we perform each day to keep us at our optimal performance. Why do we do this? One of the biggest reasons is that it keeps us balanced since our body and mind are in constant communication with one another, allowing us to remain grounded even when we are in a different state mentally or physically. Two years ago, one of my most stressful home moves and simultaneous job transitions brought me to an Ayurvedic practitioner, and it was then that I was introduced to the numerous benefits of a more structured routine. Since healthy living starts with our daily living, it is in the things we do everyday that greatly determine our overall health.

Routines, which typically apply to morning and night, come in many different forms. Some of the staples that should be included in a daily routine include going to bed and rising at the same time each day, exercise, personal care and breathing/meditation practices, which I have discussed here. I happen to favor this daily routine by Vasant Lad, an Ayurvedic Physician. And, though it is not listed, it is also recommended to go to bed between 9-10pm each night. A month or so after starting my routine, I began to notice improvements in my ability to handle stressful situations, energy levels, alertness, sleep patterns and digestion. I do not do all of these steps, nor do I do them exactly as they are written or in that order. I have made the routine my own based on what works for me, and, in order to stick with it, I suggest that you find what is best for you.

I hope each of us finds a routine that works to remain balanced in the many situations that life throws our way. It mitigates stress, improves overall health and helps us to be our best each day, and who wouldn’t want that.

 

2 thoughts on “Daily Routine: What and Why

Leave a comment